If you or a loved one are arrested for Driving Under the Influence in Orange County, you can face serious consequences including high fines, potential jail time and a license suspension. Following a license suspension for an Orange County DUI you may be required to file an SR-22 certificate with the California Department of Motor Vehicles. This certificate is not actually a form of insurance, but rather proof of financial responsibility. While an SR22 is most often associated with drunk driving charges, it is required in a number of other situations including an accident where you were uninsured, reckless driving and following a suspension for a negligent operator.
Obtaining an SR22 Certificate
Working with a specialist in SR 22 Insurance can save you thousands of dollars. It is important to note that not all insurance companies provide SR22 certificates. Many car insurance companies will significantly increase your rates or even cancel your policy following an arrest for driving under the influence. A company that specializes in providing SR22 coverage can help you navigate through the insurance requirements while keeping your policy rates as low as possible. You must keep the SR22 valid during the specified amount of time (usually a minimum of 3 years) or your driving privileges will be suspended or even revoked.
Costs for filing an SR22 in Orange County
The actual cost to file an SR22 with the California Department of Motor Vehicles may be minimal. Most insurance companies charge a one-time fee to file the certificate with the DMV. Unfortunately, the overall financial burden is much greater than the one-time fee that most insurance companies claim to charge. Many companies will raise your rates anywhere from $300 to $800, if they don’t cancel your policy immediately. You will then lose any good driver discount that you may have received prior to the license suspension. Finally, you may have to continue paying this higher rate even after the SR22 is removed from your policy. A company that works specifically in issuing SR22 certificates can help save you money and find affordable insurance policy coverage. You do not have to pay outrageous fees simply because of a license suspension. Knowing your rights is crucial to keeping your costs manageable following an arrest for DUI or other driving related offense.
Protecting your driving privileges following an arrest for an Orange County DUI
The Law Offices of Robert J. Hickey is here to help you fight to protect your driving privileges following an arrest for driving under the influence. Remember, if you fail to contact the DMV within 10 calendar days of your arrest, your license will automatically be suspended. Do not wait until it is too late. We understand that the laws governing your driving privileges can be confusing. Let us help you navigate through this difficult time. We work with licensed, professional SR22 specialists that can help you to get your driving privileges back as quickly as possible. Call our offices today toll free at 714-525-4457 for a free consultation.